Bridge Over Troubled Waters v Let it Be

So when I moved to Sweden my son gave me a few CDs — including Simon and Garfinkel’s “Concert in the Park”. I had their “Greatest Hits” but apparently lost it in the move.

I always said the Beatles’ “Let it Be” was my #1 song followed by “Bridge Over Troubled Waters”. Now I am rethinking the order. S &G are so good it is a shame they split. So many good songs.

What do you think? “Let it Be” v. “Bridge Over Troubled Waters”

When you’re weary
Feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I will dry them all

I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out
When you’re on the street
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you
I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Sail on Silver Girl,
Sail on by
Your time has come to shine
All your dreams are on their way

See how they shine
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind

 

Or Let it Be

When I find myself in times of trouble Mother Mary comes to me speaking words of wisdom, let it be. An in my hour of darkness she is standing right in front of me speaking words of wisdom, let it be. Whisper words of wisdom, let it be.

And when the broken hearted people living in the world agree, there will be an answer, let it be. For though they may be parted there is still a chance that they will see, There will be an answer, let it be.

And when the night is cloudy, there is still a light that shines on me. Shine on til tomorrow, let it be. I wake up to the sound of music. Mother Mary comes to me speaking words of wisdom, let it be.

 

